Important Things To Remember When Building A House

Information on building a house, buying poperty and land, and all other general contruction topics...
Francis-udon
udonmap.com

Post by Francis-udon » February 22, 2011, 12:27 pm

I'm about to have a house built, however before they make a start I would like to make sure I have all things covered. I'm not a builder and I'm new to all this, the list below is what I've picked up on the net so far.

If you've built a house in Thailand and have a few tips/advice or have spotted something I could add to my list I'd appreciate it. Thanks.

1. Prepare ground against termites
2. Damp proof course barrier under house
3. Earthed plug sockets
4. cable for TV fitted into power sockets in all rooms
5. cables fitted into walls
6. telephone sockets fitted
7. Super blocks on exterior walls to keep the heat out or double thickness brick/cement wall with insulation barrier
8. Good ventilation in roof
9. light colour roof tiles to avoid soaking up the heat
10. Thick foil coated insulation under roof tiles and fiberglass rolls above the ceilings
11. light exterior paint
12. balconies around house for extra shade
12. trees with bushy foliage planted around house

eagle
udonmap.com

Re: Important Things To Remember When Building A House

Post by eagle » February 22, 2011, 2:30 pm

I would change telephone socket to net sockets, but it is more personal decision and need. We would never use a land line for phone, because mobile is ok. IP phone fits also to the net socket.

I have not yet finally decided how our house will be build and one possibility is to have it rised up as typical thai houses are. Anyway there must be good drains to keep water going somewhere else than under the house. It will be an easy task, because land is much lower at the other end of our land.