Diving in Thailand

General Udon Thani topics only!
robewhite

Diving in Thailand

Post by robewhite » November 11, 2013, 8:28 pm

Hi All ... I'm new to this .... I'm retired and have been here nearly 3 years and married to a Thai. I was wondering if anyone ( living reasonably locally ) was interested in doing any diving down south. I live in Ban Chiang of museam fame , about an hours drive east of Udon and am a qualified BSAC diver... Thought about Trat and Ko Chang being just about drivable !!............. ?

stattointhailand
udonmap.com

Diving in Thailand

Post by stattointhailand » November 11, 2013, 11:10 pm

Don't dive myself ..... except in front of goal ....... but I have heard that Bang Saphan (just north of Chumpon) was a good area to dive. Might be worth checking out.

WhoUrDaddy
udonmap.com

Diving in Thailand

Post by WhoUrDaddy » November 12, 2013, 8:08 am

Don't think I would make any special trips for diving in Thailand. Dove out of Phuket and PP. Nice, but nothing special. individual Cruiser Wreck, Anemone Reef, along with Shark Pt. were ok, though don't expect more than the 2 local sharks at Shark Pt. Thai waters on Andaman side are fairly fished out. Have a friend who can dive at Similians for free, and he doesn't bother. Been a few times, but says nothing there, except the manta Rays. Saw one half meter whitetip in 6 trips there.

Diving out of Phuket is an all day affair. Out of PP is much closer, but just a few small islands they diver around, nice scenery, top and bottom, but again, fished out. Break out the macro lens.

No experience with the gulf, but it's pushed pretty hard here. But with vis from 3-5 meters being talked about, pales from the unlimited I'm used to, and can't be bothered. Contrary to their promo, there is nothing 'world class' about Thai diving.

Macca
udonmap.com

Diving in Thailand

Post by Macca » November 12, 2013, 9:30 am

I lived on Koh Chang fopr over 4 years and did a lot of business with the main dive schools.