VPN for Dummies

Technical Questions & Discussions about Computers, IT & electronics.
Bandung_Dero
udonmap.com

VPN for Dummies

Post by Bandung_Dero » November 18, 2020, 9:55 am

Had a gut full of TrueVisions and decided to head in a new direction.

Dummies = that's me :confused: :-
I have heard a little about it but never bothered up to now. I have a smart TV, subscribed to Netflix but I was hoping for more Australian content. ABC Australia recommends ExpressVPN as the best - about AUD$8.30/month for 12 months. I have read it is not a good idea to go for freeby's?

Can I use the one subscription on all my devices, phone, notebook and TV?
How is it installed into these devices?
With a VPN can I tell Netflix I'm actually located in Australia? That was not an option in the set up so I selected USA but seem to get truck loads of Asian content.
Can I change servers at any time eg. from Australia to USA to the UK etc.?
Or do I really need to do that?

Sure to be more questions later!

Sent from my 1977 Apple II using 2 Heinz bake bean cans and piano wire!

Whistler
udonmap.com

Re: VPN for Dummies

Post by Whistler » November 18, 2020, 10:11 am

most of the VPN's are much of a muchness, so I would go on price. Nord and Tunnelbear are both good, both allow you to have a single subscription for multiple devices, I have used both, now use Tunnelbear.

Downside, the TV companies are getting smarter about identifying proxies and you will find some things are blocked, from memory ABC podcasts are one example.

If you have an android device, I would recommend Livenet TV 4.7. Scroll along the list of services on the top of the screen until you are showing Australia, then a hell of a lot Australian TV stations are displayed. You can Chromecast this to your TV. Ads are annoying, but shut them off or backarrow and they disappear,

If you need any help, you have my email.
I had a bumper sticker in Texas that read 'Beam me up Scotty'. I often wish I could find one in Udon Thani