GOLD

Have a question or comment about Shopping in Udon Thani? Post it here!
biscuitz
udonmap.com

GOLD

Post by biscuitz » May 12, 2010, 8:31 pm

gold has just hit a new high as its now $1244 per once, i was thinking of buying some gold here in thailand, but i have very little knowledge of this in LOS, just a few questions to the forum is.... what carat is availble here, best place to buy / sell gold, & also how to notice fakes?????

LoongLee
udonmap.com

Re: GOLD

Post by LoongLee » May 12, 2010, 8:41 pm

I'm sorry if this sounds offensive Biscuitz, but you sound like a "babe in the woods" regarding your gold questions. Why would you want to buy gold at it's highest price? Your questions are the most basic of questions and indicate a complete lack of knowledge about gold in Thailand. This would seem to warn you about getting involved with the trading of same. I see a lot of pain in your future regarding funds. Once again, sorry if I have offended you, just being honest. LL

LoongLee
udonmap.com

Post by LoongLee » May 12, 2010, 8:44 pm

If you are serious about buying or trading gold, here is a web site that will explain how it's traded (bought and sold) in Thailand. http://maxpages.com/orchidofsiam/gold_in_thailand

arjay
udonmap.com

Post by arjay » May 12, 2010, 9:03 pm

Yes Biscuitz, I'd have to agree with LL there. Don't buy into things if you don't already understand them. And currently you would be buying into gold at the (very?) top of the market (= highest prices).

It's about 96% pure gold here, maybe 98%, thus very soft and wears and bends easily, though the Thais see it as better than our less pure but harder 9, 18 or 22 carat stuff.

Gold has reached such high prices because of the uncertainty over currencies, e.g, particularly the troubles with the Euro, and because it's price is set in dollars it is affected by the dollar exchange rate. It's too late to buy in now. The time to have bought gold would have been about 6 years ago!! ;)