One Price Beef

Have a question or comment about Shopping in Udon Thani? Post it here!
parrot
udonmap.com

One Price Beef

Post by parrot » April 9, 2017, 7:07 pm

One of the oddities of living in Thailand.......beef is 250 baht a kilo, pork is 140 (Nongwasaw market prices). You buy guts, you buy tenderloin, you buy the hoof, it's all the same price. Today my wife caught the beef lady 1.5 kilo of tenderloin. She cooked up a piece for supper.......just salt and pepper before putting on a hot skillet for 2min each side. I'm not a beef expert, but it was pretty dern tender.
I know saying that, the next piece could be tough as leather.....that's the lottery of buying beef in the market.

wazza
udonmap.com

Re: One Price Beef

Post by wazza » April 9, 2017, 8:53 pm

marinade with pineapple takes the chewy bits out a little ?

747man
udonmap.com

Post by 747man » April 10, 2017, 12:12 am

Tough as " Old Boots " at Makro Nong Khai.....Also NO Taste whatsoever !!

fdimike
udonmap.com

Post by fdimike » April 10, 2017, 7:55 am

Why play a hit or miss game? Thai-French beef is consistently tasty and tender because it's aged beef and also very affordable. The only other option to the best of my knowledge is buying quality aged steak from AU, NZ or the USA (all quite expensive).

There are 2 Thai-French Beef outlets (not including Villa Market or Tops) here in UT located as follows:

1. Tahan Rd between the Fountain and Prince Prajak Circles (UM S-17)

2. Wattana Nuwong Rd. between Adunyadet Rd and the back entrance to Central Plaza (UM V-14)

Both outlets have a good selection of Thai-French beef although I prefer #1.
An ex-pat in the Land of Smile

wazza
udonmap.com

Post by wazza » April 10, 2017, 9:04 am

Argentinian Beef at Tops but havent seen it move at all.

Quite expensive at over 2000/kg

DuiDui49
udonmap.com

Post by DuiDui49 » April 10, 2017, 9:24 am