Ken Burns Documentary, Vietnam War

Post your thoughts here if you are not sure where to post it!
parrot
udonmap.com

Ken Burns Documentary, Vietnam War

Post by parrot » September 13, 2017, 4:55 pm

For those who enjoy documentaries, PBS will begin broadcasting the Ken Burns documentary on the Vietnam War on 18 Sept. He's the same man who produced the 1990 documentary on the Civil War (also a good view) that won a number of cinematic awards.

For a bit of history on the Vietnam Memorial.......today's article recounts the history of how the memorial came about....or almost didn't.
https://www.nytimes.com/2017/09/11/book ... earth.html

parrot
udonmap.com

Re: Ken Burns Documentary, Vietnam War

Post by parrot » September 18, 2017, 7:15 pm

You can view the Vietnam War documentary through a vpn. If you use Chrome, you can add a free extension called SetupVPN. Although I have a subscription to a paid VPN, I tried the free vpn today and was able to watch the first episode of Ken Burns' work. As always, a good view.
http://www.pbs.org/kenburns/the-vietnam ... episode-1/

jimjay
udonmap.com

Post by jimjay » September 18, 2017, 9:01 pm

Definitely will watch this, thanks so much for the link.

Let us know if in your opinion the treatment is accurate etc.

GT93
udonmap.com

Post by GT93 » September 20, 2017, 4:51 pm

I really enjoyed Burns' series on the US Civil War. Too dry just to read on the US Civil War for this foreigner but his documentaries were really gripping.

As for Vietnam, I like watching docos on the American War (as the Vietnamese) say on youtube. It was a really interesting period in history.
Lock 'em up - Eastman, Giuliani, Senator Graham, Meadows and Trump

RLTrader
udonmap.com

Re: Ken Burns Epic Piece Of Fiction, Vietnam War

Post by RLTrader » September 21, 2017, 7:58 am

Documentary Or Epic Piece Of Fiction

http://www.moonofalabama.org/2017/09/th ... ction.html

tamada
udonmap.com

Post by tamada » September 21, 2017, 9:49 am