Going Batty in Udon

Information on building a house, buying poperty and land, and all other general contruction topics...
polehawk
udonmap.com

Going Batty in Udon

Post by polehawk » February 9, 2009, 5:18 pm

Maybe this topic should be under Udon Nightlife but has anybody had experience in dealing with a bat (flying rodents) invasion here? 8-[

At least a dozen bats have taken up daytime residence under our roof tile ends and I'm studying ways to get rid of them. Kind of a weird but surreal enjoyment in watching them launch from under the tiles just before it gets dark, I must admit. Our dogs have killed at least four of them at nighttime that I know about, so far, but they don't seem interested in trying to knock these low-flying varmints out of the air anymore. My concern is the possibility of these flying rats carrying rabies, fleas, ticks, etc.

Did some reading on the internet and learned some things about bats that I never knew or even thought about. For example, it is claimed that there is no repellent that actually works against them. Moth balls will have no effect and will be ignored, it says. Ultra-sound devices are a waste of money. Blind as a bat is a myth, it read, they can actually spot tiny insects which they devour all night long. I thought about using loud firecrackers but that would probably only end up damaging the roof tiles. Looked at Faroh Pest Control's (a sponsor) website but no mention of bats. Might be giving them a call but thought I might first see if the Udon-ites here are bonafide bat-ophiles and can suggest a way to encourage the bats to move on to another cave.

Also, the wife's nephew wants a crack at them and is bringing some humongous nets which he plans on setting up against the house with some long bamboo poles. Says he will make a tasty bat laap out of them and guarantees they won't be returning. I have my doubts about that one (nephew and bat taste).

How about it? Any Batmen out there? :-k

macduff
udonmap.com